Army Fellow Promoted to Colonel

David W. Pendall, one of SSP’s US Army Fellows for 2012-13, was promoted to the rank of Colonel at a ceremony on the Lexington Battle Green, Lexington, MA on November 30, 2012.

[read more]

L-R: Executive Officer of Lincoln Laboratory, John Kuconis, Colonel (Ret.) USAF; David Pendall, SSP Army Fellow; and Bill Mix of the Lexington Minuteman Company

Where We Spoke

Nathan Black, alum

Speaker, “Climate and Conflict,” MIT Museum’s Soap Box Series, October 30, 2012.

David Blum, alum

Speaker, “A Probabilistic Framework for Tactical Warning: Inferring Localized Drug Violence,” Society of Risk Analysis (SRA) annual meeting, San Francisco, CA, December 10, 2012.

[read more]

What We Wrote

Richard Samuels, faculty

“Hugging and Hedging: Japanese Grand Strategy in the 21st Century” (co-authored with Narushige Michishita) Chapter 5 in Henry Nau and Deepa Olapally, eds., Worldviews of Aspiring Powers, Oxford University Press, 2012.

Jim Walsh, Research Affiliate

“What to do about Iran?” (With Thomas Pickering and Anthony Zinni) OpEd, Chicago Tribune, October 12, 2012.

[read more]

Notes From All Over

Col Bruce (Moose) Danskine, SSP Air Force Fellow (2003-04), has taken a new assignment at the Pentagon. He is now a Senior Inquiries Officer working for the Air Force Inspector General.

Adam (AJ) McMillan, SSP Air Force Fellow, (2005-06), retired from the Air Force in April 2012 after 27 years and is now a small business executive working on DoD contracts in the Scott AFB, Illinois area.

[read more]

Awards and Scholarships

Joshua Rovner, alum was awarded the 2012 International Security Studies Best Book Award, for his book entitled Fixing the Facts: National Security and the Politics of Intelligence (Cornell University Press, 2011).

Sharon Weiner, alum, has won the Louis Brownlow Book Award for 2012 from the National Academy of Public Administration for her work, Our Own Worst Enemy?: Institutional Interests and the Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons Expertise, (MIT Press, 2011). The award was presented at the Academy’s fall meeting in Washington DC, November 15, 2012.

[read more]